Another private pilot and a hated 150

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Holtzy3

Guys! After being on this forum for 3(? Maybe 4) years, I can finally say I'm a private pilot. After 7 discontinuances for weather and mechanical issues I finally finished it. The VOR almost went out(stopped working and had to replace fuse mid flight) which almost made me land and try an 8th time but I can finally say I did it. Now time to build/buy something fun... Like a lancair (jk I would kill myself in one of those :p)

Wayne

HBA Supporter
Log Member
Fantastic achievement Holtzy!! - i just got mine recently and felt the same way. Nice work, and welcome aboard as a pilot in that same "eclectic" group.

flyvulcan

Log Member
Well done Holtzy! Welcome into the fold. As you say, now have a close look at what project you might want to start and how to achieve that goal.

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member
Contratulations! But don't say "hated"; the 150 isn't the most exciting plane but it's really a much nicer flying plane than, say, a 172 or a Cherokee.

Dana

Autodidact

I've been told that a PPL is a license to learn. Read Sagittarius Rising by Cecil Lewis; there's a scene in there when even after he is a combat veteran he's flying along one day and he gets into a mock dogfight with another pilot who turns out to be an old friend from flight school days and the other pilot wins (he has a better airplane, too...). They get on the ground and the other pilot says, "Still learning how to fly, Lewis?" :D

Congrats Holtzy!

BJC

HBA Supporter
Congratulations.

After flying many hours in tailwheel aerobatic airplanes, I did something that I thought that I never would do; I purchased an A152.

Had a ball with it. I got a letter from a stranger one day that said "I want to buy your airplane .."

BJC

PS. I'm fairly certain that the STC for heavier engines for the A152 as well as the A150 removes the aerobatic category rating.

DangerZone

HBA Supporter