A design I've been working on...

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

addaon

Lifetime Supporter
Greetings. I'd like to present some ideas around a design that I've been working on, on and off, for a little over ten years now. I want to say, up front, that not a single piece of this aircraft currently exists -- some analysis has been done, but this is a pure paper design today.

The design is for a low aspect ratio, statically unstable flying wing. I'm going to talk about all three of those design characteristics in isolation first, and then talk about why I think they combine so nicely. I will defer talking about the specific mission I'm designing around until a later post; for now, we'll keep the concepts abstract. Similarly, unless necessary for understanding I'll skip numbers that arise from detailed design, although I'm glad to discuss them later.

I'm going to do this as a few posts to make reading and managing it easier.

addaon

Lifetime Supporter
Low Aspect Ratio

The design under discussion has an aspect ratio of 3.0. For the purposes of discussion, I will consider this a low aspect ratio, but not extremely low aspect ratio. At extremely low aspect ratios some aerodynamic effects (such as vortex lift) come into play that are interesting, but not relevant for this design.

Aspect ratio cannot be analyzed in isolation; it is inherently related to span, chord, etc. For the design under consideration, the wing is sized based on a stall speed requirement. Although lowering the aspect ratio of a wing will lower Clmax, all else being equal, this effet is pretty minor. As a result, equal wing loadings (giving equal stall speed at equal Clmax) will be considered.

As aspect ratio of a design changes from a typical seven or eight down to three, what changes? The two main effects are a decrease in structural weight (good) and an increase in induced drag (primarily bad). How these two effects interact depend on detailed design.