3/4th Scale Replica Bell P-39 Airacobra

Discussion in 'Wood Construction' started by Eagle92lightning, May 13, 2019.

1. May 13, 2019 #1

Eagle92lightning

Eagle92lightning

Eagle92lightning

I am brand new to the world of building aircraft, I have been designing them on paper for years but I have never built one. I can't even fly yet (nor have I ever flown). I want to build something decently small but still fun to toss around the sky. I have been doing some looking but can't seem to find any plans for a wood P-39 Airacobra. And if you are asking why I chose the Airacobra its simple, I wouldn't have to bother with a taildragger endorsement to fly it! But if someone can direct me towards some plans for 3/4th scale P-39 it would be a huge help!

2. May 13, 2019 #2

lakeracer69

lakeracer69

lakeracer69

No plans have ever existed that I know of. Your driveline development will be interesting to say the least.

BoKu likes this.
  3. May 13, 2019 #3

Eagle92lightning

Eagle92lightning

Eagle92lightning

It should be as simple as taking the real thing and scaling it down, a few work arounds of course but maybe transfering the rotational energy from the crankshaft to the driveline via a belt and pulley system. The fun part is going to be getting a running small block Vee 8. I realize how idiotic that belt idea is now...

Last edited: May 13, 2019
  4. May 13, 2019 #4

nerobro

nerobro

nerobro

The P-39 was a pretty slim fitting aircraft to start with, it might look funny as a 3/4 scale plane, as you'd need to do some cartoony things to the cockpit area to make it work for you. I'm not aware of any plans for it.

5. May 13, 2019 #5

Dana

Dana

Dana

No, it's not that simple. Dealing with torsional vibration issues in a long driveshaft is something that makes brave engineers weep. Getting a tailwheel endorsement would be a lot easier.

6. May 13, 2019 #6

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo

Victor Bravo