2nd Arduino-based Instrument Design

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by Pilotgil, Dec 23, 2017.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Dec 23, 2017 #1

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Unfortunately California
    I decided to build a new Fuel Pressure instrument based on the Arduino platform and this is the result:



    A short video showing the display and graphing function:

    [video=youtube_share;_uOMDp4NnYE]https://youtu.be/_uOMDp4NnYE[/video]

    IMG_6079.jpg
     
    MadRocketScientist likes this.
  2. Dec 24, 2017 #2

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Unfortunately California
    Here's a better video of the graphing function:

    [video=youtube_share;AG4917HtUmQ]https://youtu.be/AG4917HtUmQ[/video]
     
  3. Dec 24, 2017 #3

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Unfortunately California
    Here's a better video of the graphing function:

    [video=youtube_share;AG4917HtUmQ]https://youtu.be/AG4917HtUmQ[/video]
     
  4. Dec 25, 2017 #4

    choppergirl

    choppergirl

    choppergirl

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    ON YOUR SIX ★★☠★★★★☠★★ AIR-WAR.ORG
    Looks good.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2017
  5. Dec 25, 2017 #5

    choppergirl

    choppergirl

    choppergirl

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    556
    Location:
    ON YOUR SIX ★★☠★★★★☠★★ AIR-WAR.ORG
    What kind of display is that, with round edges?

    Now if you could drive several of those displays, and take readings from several sensors, and then display them on multiple displays... with a single Arduino... fuel pressure, airspeed, altitude, cht, egt, tach... you'd have a system

    I'd try to maximize the use of as much display area as possible to make the graph as big as possible, and the large number as big as possible.
     
  6. Dec 26, 2017 #6

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Unfortunately California
    The display is square but the bezel covers the "square" edges. I already did a multi-function instrument with mutilple sensors but it's not based on the Arduino. See picture below. It is based on a PIC 18Fx series microcontroller. The Ardunio instrument is based on the Uno platform and just doesn't have enough memory with the "Sketch" (C) complier and to be able to accomplish all the required tasks. The complier starts complaining early about potential stability problems. Certinally, I could go much farther with the Arduino with multiple sensors but the PIC series is (in my opinion and experience) a much better microcontroller for complex embededded applications. I specifically wanted these one-off instruments to be single or dual functions so I could rapidily prototype ideas and concepts and the Arduino fit that need perfectly.

    I may design a mega-compatible (which would be better for complex designs) at some point but I already have the investment in PIC (both hardware and code) for complex designs and the investment for these quick-turn Arduino-based designs. I have all functions (airspeed, VSI, EGT, CHT, RPM, volts, amps, oil pressure/temp, fuel pressure/temp, water pressure/temp, GPS, time, timer, G, etc.) and designed and flying. Like anything in engineering, there are tradeoffs and compromises and plenty of room for preferences.

    Engine (2).jpg
     
  7. Jan 5, 2018 #7

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Unfortunately California
    This project is complete! While the instrument is labeled "FUEL PRESSURE" it can be changed to any type of pressure and a range from 0-5 PSI up to 0-300 PSI. On to the next.

    IMG_6347.jpg
     
  8. Jan 5, 2018 #8

    narfi

    narfi

    narfi

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Alaska
    If you don't mind, not counting your time in programming, what is the cost breakdown of just the hardware?
     
  9. Jan 5, 2018 #9

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Pilotgil

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Unfortunately California
    I'm not sure, I never worried about keeping track. But it's not just programming, it's also the hardware and mechanical engineering which was at least as time consuming as the coding. Just the Solidworks 3D modeling took dozens of hours to make sure everything fit. There's also all the NRE and setup costs (like CNC) and low volume machine work will eat you alive. For example, I had to machine 100 faceplates because no one wanted to touch it otherwise. I did try 3D printing the faceplate and it looked awful.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white