1st time project selection

Discussion in 'General Experimental Aviation Questions' started by lake_harley, Feb 4, 2007.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Feb 4, 2007 #1

lake_harley

lake_harley

lake_harley

I'm in the hopes of starting my first plane project (ultralight) very soon. I've been saying that for a couple months. So far I have bought 3 sets of plans and probably, to those around me, have seemed wishy-washy about what I want to build, or say I'm going to build. My considerations have gone from a simple design (plans looked like copies of napkin sketches), to one that is quite involved (but really airplane looking, and I'd like to build it as my 2nd project for sure!), and back to a really simple, back-to-basics ultralight. Am I the only one who can't make up his mind, or have others had the first-time builder hesitations about getting into something that's either over their head or not quite what they want? So far I've spent $455 on plans and building CD's, and in one case drove 1400 miles, round trip, to look at a finished version of a plane. I justify it all with the arguement that the time for indecision is before the project begins. Maybe others have had the same experience?

Thanks

Lynn

2. Feb 5, 2007 #2

CAB

CAB

CAB

Take your time, Lynn. I took over a year to decide myself. I say join our local EAA chapter and attend some airshows. You'll get real-world first-hand info; priceless! You're in for a looooooong build, don't rush it!

CAB
    Bearhawk#862

3. Feb 6, 2007 #3

Yet^Another^Dreamer

Yet^Another^Dreamer

Yet^Another^Dreamer

Over a year?!?!
    I've been interested in homebuilts for about 8 years, and I still don't know what I want to build!! lol!:grin:

Right now, I'm mulling over the idea of maybe a Murphy Rebel, but that'll prob'ly change another 5-6 times by the end of the year... hehe

Carry on...
    Y^A^D

4. Feb 6, 2007 #4

lake_harley

lake_harley

lake_harley

CAB...thanks for the advice