1/3 scaled affordaplane

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

mr.dani

Hi all ;
Two months before, I decided to build something big that I’ve never ever build before so I decided to find a good and easy to build aircraft and I bought the plans of the AFFORDAPLANE :
Welcome To Affordaplane Affordable Ultralight Aircraft
And began the work on SOLID WORKS
In fact it was a good way for a better understanding of this plane . I decided to build a 1/3 scaled RC Affordaplane .
This is my first scaling down project and I don’t want to waste money by doing stupid mistakes so; Is there any tips that I should follow ?
I decided to use square carbon fiber tubes for the fuselage ; and this is my first time to deal with carbon fiber square tubes that should be cut and drilled / I used foam for my previous projects/ . So can I use the same way of bolts and rivets to join carbon fiber parts as with aluminum or there is a better way to do that ?
I can send the solid works file to any body for free . just send me a PMdfsd.jpg

Aerowerx

Carbon fiber and aluminum together is not a good idea. You can get rapid corrosion of the aluminum. But for a scale RC plane with a limited life time it may be OK.

Or you could use epoxy for the joints.

Keep in mind that very few Affordaplanes, from what I have read, meet the part 103 weight restriction even if built to plans. Most are too heavy.

There are others on here that know more than I. It has been discussed here before. Use the advanced search function to find the threads.

skier

Keep in mind that very few Affordaplanes, from what I have read, meet the part 103 weight restriction even if built to plans. Most are too heavy.
I'm not sure I've ever heard of any being completed, never mind meeting Part 103.

EDIT: looks like there may be 1 or 2 flying?

litespeed

I would not worry about using carbon. Weight is not going to be a enemy on a scale model- you only have a small payload needed not a heavy pilot.