• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

Engine design/comments/thoughts

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DLrocket89

Disclaimer: I am a metallurgical engineer. If you want me to tell you what to make parts out of the engine out of, what type of lubrication materials you should use, how to heat treat your various parts, I’m your guy. My mechanical design experience is exactly zero…all I know is what I have experience with wrenching on, namely 1970’s motorcycles, tractors from the 1930s, and my ’97 Chevy S10. That and I have a crazy gearhead friend who designed, fabricated, and built his own functional internal combustion engine “because he got bored”…he talks, I listen.

So, I’ve been thinking about the things that make aircraft engines what they are (thinking along the lines of a Lyc/Cont/Jab here), ie air cooled, flat, simple. Above all, they are intended to be reliable. That got me thinking about a potential new design.