• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

Another “help me decide” thread.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NOLA

Enough research, time to ask for help.

I’m a welder/fabricator looking for a scratch built project. (Emphasis on scratch built)
I have spent months looking through designs while trying to narrow it down and define my mission. I know I’ll have to compromise on something unless I modify an existing design, which I’m not opposed to.
What I have so far.
STOL, rugged, side by side (lady’s request but flexible), tube and fabric, LSA gross (possible higher gross pending 3rd class med), tail dragger, bush gear/tires, classic lines/looks, Spartan Vfr cockpit, Yamaha, aeromomentum or equivalent 130-150hp light engine,
I’m in the Caribbean so sun and salt water are factors. I’m about 160lbs after eating a poboy and only 5’9” so ergonomics aren’t a real constraint. Long Range and high speeds are not important.
A Sub 500lb useful load is perfectly acceptable. Most I’ll put in it is a couple surfboards, some light camping gear and a change of clothes, occasionally my downhill mtb (40lbs)