+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How much HP can a VW engine produce

How much HP can a VW engine produce

As the lead in says how much HP can one get out of a VW 4cyl engine set up for an airplane? I know much of it depend's upon overall displacement but whats the upper end one can get? I've read that 80 HP was the top end but also have seen 85 and even 100 HP advertised? I know I'm still learning but I'd really tought that about 72 HP was the upper limit. What gives here? Is it the use of redrives or some truly custom machine work beyond the skill level of an average person? Will someone please clue me in because I really like the VW engine but I thought if you were looking for 80-100 HP you had to consider the CorVair engine, which I also like. Thanks, wasn't trying to rant, just confused.

JK

Re: How much HP can a VW engine produce

In direct drive mode you can expect about 60 hp from a 1835cc VW, which is about as big as you can go with the standard crank. This is at about 3200-3400 rpm. With long stroke cranks you can get up 80 hp - anything beyond that and you need to have a re-drive to get at the extra hp the engine may (or may not) be capable of.
    "Aeronautical engineering is highly educated guessing, worked out to five decimal places. Fred Lindsley, Airspeed."

I have actually been looking at these a bit lately as well. According to the Great Planes website, their 2276cc engine with a redrive will produce 105HP for take off and 73HP continuous. Download their catalogue which has a ton of info in it and have a nice read of it. I think they claim about 400 lb of thrust with that setup.

211hp @ 6000

----- _!_-----
    ____(0)____
    ---------------
    Ridge runner II (Totaled, but I survived)
    KR-1 (Building)
    http://websites.expercraft.com/firstscout

Actually about 60hp or so, the biggest limitation is not how big (cc) nor how long the stroke is.

The limitation is in how well you can cool the heads.