• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

Wake visualisation

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Flyingboyke

Hi Everyone

I am a masters student in aerodynamics and for my thesis i'm interested in doing vortex-wing interactions. This is a problem encountered for example during formation flying. Tip vortices shed of the front aircraft can cross the wing (top or bottom) of the rear aircraft, altering the lift distribution with negative resulting effect. I am not talking of tip wakes shed of commercial airliners which induce a rolling motion on the rear plane. I will just consider a vortex over a wing and study the relation between vortex parameters (strength, position, transient behaviour...) w.r.t. lift distribution, aeroelastic effects,...