• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

New member from WA

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xlamin8r

Hi Y'all,
I just joined up. I am a retired aero engineer. Finished my career 12 years ago as part of a small team putting drag-reducing laminar flow technology on the tailfeathers of the 787. Hence my handle Xlamin8r. I live in the Columbia Gorge and fly my Corvair-powered Sonex out of The Dalles airport (DLS). I didn't build the bird but have been working to improve it in various ways. Most recently I pulled the engine to upgrade the oil pump to a higher volume one out of a small-block V8 Chevy. Also replaced the pan gasket to stop an annoying oil leak. The engine is from Azalea Aviation. I like the fact that the alternator is on the engine shaft, and on the back of the engine, where it contributes less to nose-heaviness. I also like the fact that there's no V-belt! The extra 5th bearing on the front end is a clever adaptation of a small-block V8 Chevy rear main bearing. Since it's a modified car engine, certain minor concessions are necessary to make it happy in an airplane. But oh man, is that little 6 smooth!