• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

Who are the successful aircraft designers and entrepreneurs that you know?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zephramcochrane

Hi All,

I'm an aspiring pilot and aircraft homebuilder. I love all things that fly, and am in awe of all the work that homebuilders have done for pushing the state of aerospace technology forward. I am like a sponge, learning all that I can about homebuilt aircraft, and I spend a lot of time on this website and the EAA Homebuilder's tips site. I am also an aspiring entrepreneur and want to be able to support my family and research projects by selling aircraft. As such, I'm looking to find living successful aircraft entrepreneurs and designers, to learn from their experience and hear the story of how they got successful. I don't know any personally, so I am putting this post up to hear from all of you to see who you know.

So here are my criteria for what counts as successful:

For aircraft entrepreneur:

- Able to live on the income generated by selling the aircraft or aircraft system they developed or helped develop
- Still living

For aircraft designer: