• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

FAA and External Cameras..

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello All,

I designed a mount for a GoPro that I have been testing and refining for a few years. I originally designed it to mount to my Hanglider, but when I started flying Power, I modified the design to also work with a Cessna Wing Strut. My design is much different than any of the others out there currently and I filed a provisional patent. It can also be used on other items as well such as Motorcycles, mountain bikes, roll bars on race cars,ATVs and boats and such, but my main question is with how the FAA will see the mount. I know on an experimental, we can get away with it easier, but on a certified aircraft that may be a different story. I know most will just use it anyhow, but I have been getting some questions from commercial pilots and thought I would see what people here say.