+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CH701 AVEX rivets

CH701 AVEX rivets

Hello fellow tin men. I was just looking at the assembly instructions for my 701 rudder starter kit and discovered that ZENITH calls for a special head for the rivet puller and that the rivets are countersinks and the special head shapes them into domed heads, I guess I had missed this before. I have searched around the forum and their site and I can't find much about this. Is this a common practice or something that Mr. Heintz came up with? Should I use another kind of rivet Cherry N and just use the puller that I have? I love the plane and the construction method, I just feel this is a little funky? If you wanted domed rivets why not use them to begin with. Anyways just looking to see if anybody else had an issue with this, I'm new at this building thing.
    Thanks
    Walt
    STOL 701 builder

Re: CH701 AVEX rivets

search the zenith site and I believe you will find that they will machine the riveter head for you. The cost is somewhere in the 5-10 dollar range.

Thanks Dave, I will search the site again and maybe email them.
    Walt

You can just order their riveter with the custom machined heads.

http://www.zenithair.com/kit/tools/index.html

http://www.zenithair.com/kit-data/tools.htm

Riveter Heads (changeable Nose Bushing piece): Zenith Aircraft Company has developed a unique process for setting blind rivets, which requires custom rivet heads. The process uses flush-type rivets, where the flush rivet head is formed into a domed-head by the riveting process. This provides an permanent tight finish to all set rivets. To accomplish this, the riveter heads must be ground (machined) with a concave dome (see diagram). Only 1/8" (A4) and 5/32" (A5) rivets are required to assemble the kit
    Jim

------------------------------------------------
    Express 2000FT (hopeful - Again)