+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Welding vs Rivet

Welding vs Rivet

Hello all,

First off there is alot of information on this site and I would like to thank all those who contribute to the posts.

I am interested in building an all metal plane. I am curious about the outer skin I am a TIG welder by trade and I have access to everything related to TIG welding this is why I have chosen to go the all metal route. I was thinking of welding all of the outer skins instead of using rivets. Is this acceptable or is there some reason as to not weld the outer skin ? Any feedback on this matter is appreciated.

CAB
    The type and "thinness" of aluminum used for aircraft skins can't be welded.

If you have any questions, try e- mailing this guy; he knows everything sheetmetal.

http://www.tinmantech.com/index.php

CAB
    Bearhawk#862

Thanks
    Last edited by BlackWidow; May 14th, 2006 at 11:32 AM.

In my line of work, this question has come up a number of times over the years. If we look at candidate materials, it may not necessarily be out of the realm of possibilities. Due to rising costs, more construction today is based on 6061-T6 than the stronger 2024-T3. If we considered only the latter, then the likelyhood of a weld working over a period of time would be virtually zero. However 6061 is weldable and even if the welding process degrades the T6, fuselage skin structures are not highly loaded so if we really stretched our imaginations, and used materials with sufficient weldable gauges, it just may be possible. Historically though, I'm not sure anyone has actually tried this.

The strength-critical areas such as the wings would however suffer from the weld due to the significant degradation of the material's strength, so there I would not even consider the possibility.