+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would it be possible... (twin tilt ducted fan ultralight w/short wings)

Would it be possible... (twin tilt ducted fan ultralight w/short wings)

Hi all, I'm new to aircraft construction, but I've built motorized bicycles before, and am taking a class about building frame structures and can do engineering calculations when given the forumlas, and am a fairly skilled woodworker/mechanic, and am going to be taking welding this summer.

I'm thinking I might want to possibly get a sport pilots license or at least build an ultralight of some sort for recreation and somewhat practical transportation (Go Island Hopping, Fly cross country to my friends who normalli I have to drive to, Fly out to cape cod in the summer, etc...)

I have no aviation experience, so, what would you guys recomend I work with?

I'd like to make a design baded roughly off a hiller flying platform (the things that look like UFOs from the 50's) for propulsion with two ducted fans (rotating in opposite direction to balance torque) side by side with a controll system to tilt the whole system any which way for controlled low speed flying, hovering, and vertical takeoff. They could tilt forward once in the air slowely, and a pair of short winglets could generate lift like a normal plane.

Do you guys think this could work? Also what are the restrictions about parking/flying ultralights in towns and such? Like not buzzing low down, but it it possible to use a an ultralight rotocraft practically?

Re: Would it be possible... (twin tilt ducted fan ultralight w/short wings)

You mean like this?