+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Vacuum Gauge vs Manifold Pressure Gauge

rdj

Vacuum Gauge vs Manifold Pressure Gauge

No, not that itty-bitty little gauge that tells you if the vacuum pump has failed...

Does anyone know of a link that describes the difference between a manifold pressure gauge as used in an aircraft and a vacuum gauge as used by every engine mechanic in the world, other than the scale and the direction the needle spins to indicate greater vacuum? (And, I suppose, the $$$ needed to certify the thing for aircraft use.)

What I'm wondering is if the manifold pressure gauge is as useful for diagnosing engine problems as a vacuum gauge, ie, does the pointer indicate less vacuum if the rings are bad, or jump around 4"Hg or so if a valve is sticking, and so on. I've never flown a constant-speed prop plane so I have no experience with the instrument.

Thanks.

Bob

Re: Vacuum Gauge vs Manifold Pressure Gauge

The two instruments are the same in that they sense the atmospheric conditions within the manifold. For normally aspirated engines the gauge measures a vacuum in that the pressure will always be lower than atmospheric. For turbo or super charged engines the pressure will be higher than atmospheric (with waste gate closed). The only difference then is in the nomenclature, which means that the indicator can be used in the same manner as with an automotive vacuum gauge.
    "To live is to learn; to learn is to live" (author unknown)

The vacuum gauge mesaures pressure below ambient. The manifold pressure gauge measures absolute pressure without reference to ambient.

Dan

Quote Originally Posted by rdj View Post

What I'm wondering is if the manifold pressure gauge is as useful for diagnosing engine problems as a vacuum gauge, ie, does the pointer indicate less vacuum if the rings are bad, or jump around 4"Hg or so if a valve is sticking, and so on.
    Bob