+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: twin engine light sport plans?

twin engine light sport plans?

I'm very new to this airplane building thing and was wondering are there any twin
    engine light sport plans out there, (preferably one that has a smooth flowing top wing design like a C-130). I'm a little indecisive and so I'd like to see what options are available for aircraft plans out there.

Re: twin engine light sport plans?

If you mean LSA category, they are limited to single engine by the rule. As far as experimental category twins, they are few and far between.
    "Milk cures wing dope poisoning."

Flying and Glider Manual

whoops, well ya i meant experimental sorry, kinda proves my lack of knowledge on the subject.

Zenith had a prototype for a twin v dub powered plane; there is a retired aerospace engineer in Texas who built a replica of a P-38 Lightning. But there are not very many of those animals around; complexity issues, I think.
    "Milk cures wing dope poisoning."

Flying and Glider Manual

Cost, as well; both construction (engines are the most expensive part of many homebuilts) and operating. Still, a twin 912 with beta props would make a hell of a seaplane...

Registered User HumanPoweredDesigner's Avatar

I doubt cost of the engines would be a problem, since price scales with power. Probably just single engine out planning and air frame design would be the challenges. And the cost of two propellers.

Aside from that, I'd much prefer a twin engine so I have less air blowing in my face. And if it is possible to get a shroud on it, much quieter too.

Well, there's always the Cri Cri! ;-) Probably a bit smaller than you meant.

Hmm....Aircam is plans built. Not terribly fast.

Lazair ultralight, but I don't think you can find plans.