+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By cluttonfred

Thread: affordaplane vs. RagWing Aerial???

Question affordaplane vs. RagWing Aerial???

http://www.affordaplane.com/

http://www.ragwing.net/fleet/RW16Aerial.html

both designs seem to have similar weights, speeds, etc.. only difference is actual structure, so my question is anybody ever heard of any good or bad things reguading these designs/manufactures ? also any thoughts on structural layout?

Thanks,
    John

Re: affordaplane vs. RagWing Aerial???

I haven't had any dealings with Ragwing.net but I have with Affordaplane. Affordaplane has a pretty good builder group on yahoo groups but if you are looking for designer support there is basicly none from the affordaplane camp. I received my plans via online in a couple of days only after I sent an email, and I've hear if you request them in paper form it takes months. I'm no designer but the Ragwing looks more like an airplane to me..

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Cheapaircraft/
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Cheapaircraft2/

My two cents..

Tony
    Last edited by Firstscout; October 2nd, 2007 at 12:50 PM.

I am building a Ragwing RW6. The plans leave alot to be desired; however, when you start actually building it becomes clearer. There is very little support from Roger Mann and there are few support groups. I do believe the RW6 is a sound design I cannot speake to the Aerial. Finally, I agree, his designs do appear to look more like "real" aircraft. The following is a link to RW16 builders; you may want to give on of them a call - that's what I did on the RW6 before buying.

http://hammer.prohosting.com/~ragwin...edir.html#rw16

Keith