+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Fastest STOL homebuilt?

Fastest STOL homebuilt?

I am a missionary pastor, wanting to build a plane (because I have few funds) that can handle 2place plus 150# supplies, deal with grass/gravel rough strips, yet get us around faster than hitch-hiking... cheap to build/maintain.. maybe VW powered so I can work on it myself... that is what I need.. my dream is an inline 2pl twin that'll cruise circa 200 on VWs.. but I understand grass/gravel is not practical for inline twin... decisions decisions....

Almost wondering if a older used 152 might be a better bet? I've seen some in flying condition for less than $18,000 USD.

If you prefer a tail dragger, I just spotted a 172 for 25k.

As many people here on HBA have said, often times what you want, and what the budget allows are very different things.

I guess a start might be, what sort of budget are you looking at?

You might be able to build a VW powered Aircamper, which would seat two,
    and from the looks of it, would handle grass/dirt strips okay enough. Not sure about the Aircampers cargo capacity tho.

If I decide not to tackle my 2 seat lifting body aircraft in the next few years,
    I'll most likely go with the zodiac CH 640 since I can order each subsection kit as time/money allows.

http://www.zenair.com/performance.html
    I am not Kirk, Spock, Luke, Buck, Flash or Arthur frelling Dent. Im Dorothy Gale from Kansas. -
    Cmdr. John Crichton "Farscape"

Registered User jetblackaircraft's Avatar

Glastar