+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Composite Wing Spar for an Ultralight

Composite Wing Spar for an Ultralight

Hey guys,
    I'm working on a design for an ultralight somewhat similar to Airdrome Airplanes' 'Dream Classic'.

I'm a collage student studying Electrical Engineering (2 years so far)... I say this to communicate two things:

1. I have a limited budget

2. I can do the math, but my knowledge of materials is limited. So please be patient.

I'm trying to design this plane with modern material technologies to make it lighter and, if possible, cheaper. I'm starting this process with the wing spar. My current idea is to use a Polystyrene foam core ( 6" x 2" cross section) and laminate it with 1 layer of 12k carbon fiber, and vacuum infuse epoxy resin.

What do you guys think? I'm open to any suggestions or comments. Would there be better materials/methods for this project?

Re: Composite Wing Spar for an Ultralight

It'll be more expensive than aluminum and unless the wing is less than 6" thick you won't see any weight savings
    --------.~.
    --------/V\
    ------//----\\
    -----/(------)\--Norm
    ----(^^)-(^^) "For some years I have been afflicted with the belief that flight is possible to man" ~Wilbur Wright 5/13/1900

Some construction pics for a pretty impressive spar here:
    Parker P1 High Altitude Airplane
    Note the use of Graphlite. Pultruded fibers will probably be much straighter than any hand layup, so properties should be much better.

However, with all those wires, doesn't seem like the spar is going to be all that heavy anyway. Maybe there's a safe way to use kevlar instead of wire, but I don't know what it is.

If the specs are right, 242 lbs. empty is pretty low already!