+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Microlift Glider Project....

Microlift Glider Project....

Hello Everyone,

Im new on the forum although I have been reading it for months.

Although I'm in Iquitos, Peru, at the moment, I'll be coming back to the states this summer and will begin construction of a microlight glider.

In preparation of building,I've been reading the messages here in the forum and other places on the internet for a few months and decided to sign up and get some advice and/or suggestions.

My background is likeTopaz's in regards to number of flight hours and gliders. Though I haven't flown in a number of years I plan on starting again when I return to the states this summer. My first love is gliders and soaring. Flying is like boating. Some like fast, high powered, high decibel speed boats. Some like slow, silent canoes. I like canoes up a jungle river at dawn. To each their own.

My longest soaring flight is 3hours 45 minutes. Highest altitude gain AGL 11,400 feet. Both in a 1-26. No xc. Like Topaz, longest flight would have been longer but I made a serious error in judgment. I drank a 64oz Big Gulp Coke just prior to launch. Stupid and not good.

I've been reading about the exploits of Gary Osoba, microlift, and dynamic soaring (google all three) and want to explore this area of soaring.

I've reached the stage in planning where I need expert advice, critiques, and suggestions. Or any combination thereof.

My objective is light as possible for the lowest span squared loading for the lowest possible sink rate.

And a fast build; I want to fly, not build.

I'm not adverse to trying new ideas and methods as long as my safety is not compromised and my thin wallet is not further depleted.