+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: How to build a better Swift?

How to build a better Swift?

Hi all,
    Thank you for reading my post. I will start with a little about me. I have been flying one form or another aircraft for 35 years. Everything from a Huey to a hang glider plus tons of R/C planes. Yes I got the bug early as a boy. I am an engineer but NOT an mechanical or aerodynamic engineer. I have build a BD-5 and have the kit downstairs for a Long-EZ. I am a proficient machinist with a commercial CNC Mill and lath in my shop plus most every other tool you can think of and a few you can't (grin). There is even an industrial robot down there (he is still waiting for a job)

With all that said, what do I want? I want a Aeriane Swift'Light. Problem is there current price is close to $30,000 dollars and over a year wait. I would love to build an aircraft in this category. So just what is that category to me?

Must haves:
    1. Foot lauchable at most hang glider sites (rolling launch were applicable)
    2. Attachable engine for self launch
    3. Right stick control for easy flight and ground handling.
    4. Prefer the no-engine weight less than 120 lbs. I may need to run with this and even that is a bit much
    4. When the engine, fuel, controls and misc support for it are attached, under 155 lbs

5. Able to hold me at 225 lbs
    5. Glide ratio > 20 to 1 minimum.
    6. Removable wings. Set up and tear downin less that an hour. 30 min would be great
    7. No unrecoverable flight modes (tumble, flat spin!)

Nice things:
    1. Glide ratio > 30 to 1
    2. One person assembly
    3. Towable
    4. Able to fly at 60+ without having the glide ratio drop below 18 to one (most flying will be in the 20-30 mph range "fun") faster is to go "somewhere"

Things I can accept:
    1. Wings carried in box on top of car
    2. Longer set up time than most hanggliders.