+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Starduster Too 220 cont - high sink rate

Starduster Too 220 cont - high sink rate

eom
    Last edited by ClippedCub; April 16th, 2012 at 09:32 AM.

Re: Starduster Too 220 cont - high sink rate

100 mph sounds high, though I have no experience with this aircraft. Is it the one with a Kinner engine formerly from Connecticut?

But a radial will be more draggy, so you'd have to come in with some power or steeper... but if you come in without power you'd need enough excess speed to carry you through the flare. Kind of like an ultralight...

-Dana

I have a hard time deciphering the fine line between boredom and hunger.

What is the empty weight? The prototype was 1000 pounds, but these things have been built in every possible configuration over the years and the radial powered examples are often very heavy. I heard of one that was powered by an iron block chevy out of a sprint car. The FWF weight was something like 750 pounds IIRC. It flew, but was a real handful, similar to the description above.

I flew a 220 powered Starduster Too many years ago. The speed on final sounds a bit high, but not much. The airplane was very heavy; though, I don't remember the actual numbers. I believe it was easily several hundred pounds more than the design empty weight. The engine does not fit the airplane well and it is impossible to cowl properly; so, the drag is also very high. The combination of the two did result in an impressive sink rate on final so approaches were almost always power on. Visibility forward was bad even by antique biplane standards. That probably accounts for the high approach speed even more than stall speed.

eom
    Last edited by ClippedCub; April 16th, 2012 at 09:33 AM.